AFMS is an independent non-profit society that supports and fosters interest in fluid mechanics and related disciplines in the Australasian region.This is done by providing a forum for people with a common interest, and by publishing or promoting relevant material. The Society aims to actively represent the views of its members to Government, institutes and the public. It supports all those with an interest in fluid mechanics including researchers and professionals. The AFMS is charged with overseeing and supporting the Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference (AFMC) series. The membership consists of those members of the Society who have indicated their wish to join the Society and who annually retain membership though the payment of designated dues. The AFMS was incorporated in Victoria, Australia on 14 October 2008.

Who can be a member?

Anyone who supports the aims of the Society, and has an interest in Fluid Mechanics.

How is the Society organized?

The Society's affairs are run by Council and its committees, within the constraints of the Rules of the Society. Council consists of an executive comprising the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Secretary; plus the immediate past President.


Executive Committee
Tony Lucey (President)Curtin U
Hugh Blackburn (Vice-President)Monash U
Scott Draper (Secretary)U WA
Ivan Marusic (Treasurer)U Melbourne
Bianca Capra (Co-opted)UNSW
Elected Council Members
Steve ArmfieldU Sydney
Tracie BarberUNSW
John CaterU Auckland
Jim DenierMacquarie U
Richard KelsoU Adelaide
Justin Leontini Swinburne UT
Emilie SauretQueensland UT
Automatic and Co-opted Council Members
Hubert Chanson UQ
Richard Brown QUT
Richard Manasseh Swinburne UT
Danielle Moreau UNSW
Maryam Abdolahpour U WA


Student Prizes Richard Kelso (Chair), Tony Lucey, Tracie Barber
ARC College of Experts Steve Armfield (Chair), Tony Lucey, Ivan Marusic, Jim Denier, Julio Soria, John Cater
Fellowships Hugh Blackburn (Chair), Ivan Marusic, Steve Armfield
Future AFMC Richard Manasseh (Chair), Hugh Blackburn, Danielle Moreau , Scott Draper
Outreach (and Social media) Bianca Capra (Chair), Richard Manasseh, Richard Kelso, Justin Leontini
AFMS Local Chapters Emilie Sauret (Chair), John Cater, Tony Lucey, Tracie Barber
Women in Fluid Mechanics Bianca Capra (Chair), Emilie Sauret , Jim Denier, Maryam Abdolahpour


Late Fellows


Rules of the Society

Rules for Awarding Fellowships

The Australasian Fluid Mechanics Society Workshop/Meeting Grant Rules

Rules for AFMS Local Chapters

Guidelines for hosting 22AFMC

Interim Guidelines for hosting an Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference

Guidelines for hosting an Australasian Fluid Mechanics summer school

Student Presentation Prizes in the Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference Series

Student Travel Grants in the Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference Series