The Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference has grown steadily from its beginning at the University of Western Australia in 1962. The conference series has traditionally covered the broad field of fluid mechanics in all engineering and scientific disciplines. It provides a forum for presentation of papers in all aspects of fundamental and applied fluid mechanics.


Starting in 2014, three student prizes are given to best student presentations at the Australasian Fluid Mechanics Conference.

21AFMC at Adelaide (2018) Winner
Sam Luxton Prize Chitrarth Lav, U. Melbourne
Tony Perry Prize Jiwen Gong, U. Melbourne
David Wilkinson Prize Travis Mitchell, U. Queensland
20AFMC at UWA, Perth (2016) Winner
Sam Luxton Prize C.S. Ng, U. Melbourne
Tony Perry Prize M.R. Abbassi, U. Melbourne
David Wilkinson Prize A. Sareen, Monash U.
19AFMC at RMIT, Melbourne (2014)
Sam Luxton Prize Jung Hoon Lee
Tony Perry Prize William Sidebottom
David Wilkinson Prize Dhiren Mistry

Previous meetings and proceedings:

Commencing with 19AFMC, the Society holds copyright to papers which appear in the Proceedings. Prior to that, copyright resides with authors of the papers.